Muktar Elected As Next President of Oromia

The Oromo People’s Democratic Organization (OPDO,) one of the four member parties of the ruling Ethiopian Peoples’ Ruling Democratic Front (EPRDF)

on Thursday, in its 10th plenary session elected Muktar Kedir as its next president. Muktar replaced Alemayehu Atomsa, who passed away last month while receiving treatment in Bangkok, Thailand, as chairman of the party earlier this month.

The party, in its plenary session, also elected Aster Mamo as vice president and Lemma Megersa, who had served as Security and Administration Head of the region, as Speaker of the Council, currently Lemma is serving as Trade and Industry Development Bureau Head of the region. Muktar had worked as Administrator of the Jimma Zone from 1999 to 2003, one of the ten zones in the region that includes the Special Zone established more than a week ago to administer the eight towns around Addis Ababa. He was also Secretary General of the Regional Government for months in between his jobs in Jimma and as Vice President of the region. Then he became the region’s vice president before moving to the party.

Muktar Kedir has also served as head of the Office of the Prime Minister and Cabinet Affairs with a ministerial portfolio. Immediately before his current appointment he was serving as Minister of Civil Service and Deputy Prime Minister of the Good Governance and Reform cluster. He earned his first degree in Law from the Civil Service College and his second degree in International Leadership from Azusa Pacific University in California in August of 2008.

OPDO was founded on March 26, 1990 in North Shoa, in the Dera District at Gundomeskele. Not more than 37 members of OPDO facilitate the establishment of the OPDO.

It took more than seven months to establish OPDO, the foundational congress held in the liberated area of Tigray in the Adet woreda. After its establishment, OPDO joined EPRDF forces.

Muktar is now the sixth president of the Oromia Regional State, which is the largest region in the republic. Previously, presidents of the region have been Haaen Ali, Kuma Demeksa, Junedin Sado, Abadula Gemeda and Alemayehu Atomsa.

Source : The Reporter

Leave a Reply